CISSM director Nancy Gallagher awarded inaugural SPP Dean’s Award

May 03, 2018

Citing her commitment to students, faculty development, and policy-relevant research, School of Public Policy Dean Robert Orr awarded CISSM Director Nancy Gallagher the inaugural Dean’s Award at the school’s celebration of service on April 26, 2018.

In defining the qualifications for the award, Orr noted that it would be given to someone who has made “exceptional contributions to the school.” Orr specifically mentioned Gallagher’s commitment to mentoring doctoral students, her leadership in supporting professional track faculty development, the policy impact of her work to study Iranian public opinion, and her work with CISSM Senior Fellow Charles Harry to develop novel, useful cybersecurity tools as examples of her award-worthy contributions. Gallagher accepted the award by acknowledging how much she had enjoyed the inaugural celebration of service and how pleased she was to be a part of the school community.

The celebration of service honored a number of other faculty and students as well, including: Professor David Crocker and Associate Professor Nate Hultman, both of whom are CISSM senior fellows, for their public impact and research, respectively; and doctoral student Poorti Sapatnekar, a CISSM collaborator for her service to the local community. CISSM Research Associate Jaganath Sankaran and CISSM Associate Director Jonas Siegel were nominated for awards as well.