Steven Kull Releases Opinion Poll: Cut Defense Spending

February 04, 2011
Steven Kull, a senior research scholar at CISSM and director of the Center on Policy Attitudes, released a study from COPA''s Program for Public Consultation, "How the American Public Would Deal with the Budget Deficit," which shows substantial support for cuts to the defense budget.

Research Assistant Anton Grishanov Interviewed On VOA

November 22, 2010

Visiting research assistant Anton Grishanov was interviewed [in Russian] by the Voice of America on November 22, 2010 about his views on NATO-Russia relations.

CISSM Awarded Pepsi Challenge Funding

November 11, 2010

CISSM was awarded Pepsi Challenge Funding to host a screening and discussion of the acclaimed documentary film, Countdown to Zero, on campus.

CISSM Sponsors Screening Of The Battle of Algiers

October 26, 2010

CISSM sponsored a screening of the counterinsurgency classic, The Battle of Algiers, on October 26, in 1113 Van Munching Hall.

Dead Dogs: An American Tragedy Reading At CISSM

October 04, 2010

CISSM hosted a reading of "Dead Dogs: An American Tragedy," an 80-minute drama by playwright Greg Steinbruner. CISSM research fellow, Daniel Levine, led a post-performance discussion of the ethical issues raised by the play.

Dwight Raymond Speaks At CISSM Lunch Talk

September 30, 2010

CISSM co-sponsored a September 29 lunch-time talk by Dwight Raymond of the Peacekeeping and Stability Operations Institute.

Fall Film Series Launch: 'Nuclear Tipping Point'

September 21, 2010

CISSM launched its fall 2010 film series with a September 21 showing of Nuclear Tipping Point at 7 pm in 1113 Van Munching Hall.

Russian Amb. Sergey I. Kislyak Gives Lunch Talk At CISSM

May 04, 2010

CISSM hosted a lunch talk by Russian Amb. Sergey I. Kislyak.  The event was part of the CISSM Forum series.

Russian Students Visit CISSM

April 30, 2010

Russian students from the Institute of U.S. and Canada Studies visited CISSM as part of the Collaborative Education and Cooperative Security project. Read the full trip report.

CISSM Co-hosts African Security Panel

April 26, 2010

CISSM co-hosted an African Security Panel on April 23, which featured CISSM Research Fellow Daniel Levine, Graduate Assistant Michael Kniss, and others.

CISSM Receives John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Grant

March 08, 2010

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation has awarded CISSM a $350,000 grant in support of its Advanced Methods of Cooperative Security Program.

Nancy Gallagher Addresses Middle Powers Initiative

January 25, 2010

CISSM Research Director Nancy Gallagher addressed the Middle Powers Initiative’s "Atlanta Consultation III: Fulfilling the NPT" conference.

Catherine Kelleher Appointed To Euro-Atlantic Security Initiative

January 04, 2010

Catherine Kelleher, a CISSM Senior Fellow and a College Park Professor, was recently appointed to the Euro-Atlantic Security Initiative (EASI), a high-level international commission sponsored by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, whose goal is to lay the intellectual foundation for an inclusive Euro-Atlantic security system for the twenty-first century....

John Steinbruner To Chair National Research Council Committee

December 20, 2009

CISSM Director John Steinbruner was selected to chair the National Research Council''s Committee on Deterring Cyberattacks.

School of Public Policy Graduate Establishes Yamamoto-Scheffelin Endowment

December 15, 2009

School of Public Policy graduate establishes Yamamoto-Scheffelin Endowment for Policy Research to support the CISSM Forum, with a primary focus on supporting the preparation of research papers related to policy topics discussed at the forum.

Irina Bokova Selected As Director General UNESCO

September 23, 2009

Irina Bokova, a Bulgarian diplomat and a former fellow of the CISSM-affiliated Maryland Seminar on Foreign Policymaking, was recently selected to be director general of UNESCO.

Catherine Kelleher Honored With Hubert H. Humphery Award

August 24, 2009

The American Political Science Association has awarded CISSM senior fellow Catherine McArdle Kelleher its prestigious Hubert H. Humphery Award in recognition of her years of public service. The award was presented at the association’s annual fall conference.

Jonas Siegel Joins CISSM As Research Associate

July 12, 2009

Jonas Siegel, the former editor of the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, has joined CISSM as a research associate.

Steve Fetter Appointed Assistant Director, Office Of Science And Technology Policy

March 23, 2009

Steve Fetter dean of the School of Public Policy for the past four years and Senior Fellow at CISSM, has been appointed assistant director at-large at the Office of Science and Technology Policy